You are here : Home / About BMS Department

About BMS Department

Teaching focus

BMS is one of the oldest and largest departments of the University of Malawi College of Medicine. It provides biomedical science teaching and research services to MBBS, DAHS and BSc. Clinical Science Programs, particularly in years 1, 2 and 3. The BSc. In Biomedical Sciences is currently being developed and is expected to roll out end 2019. Traditionally, services are delivered through its four Units: Anatomy, Physiology, Biochemistry and Foundations.

The Department also has a number of NCHE–accredited postgraduate programs which include, MSc. In Bioinformatics and MSc. Biomedical Sciences (currently in development). In addition, BMS houses several MSc. and PhD students.

Anatomy Unit

Housed within BMS premises, this Unit is actively involved in teaching and research of Macroscopic, Microscopic and Developmental Anatomy as applied to biological and human disease processes.

Biochemistry Unit

This Unit is responsible for teaching and research in biochemistry, molecular science, clinical chemistry and analytical methods relevant to medical practice.

Physiology Unit

The Physiology Unit focusses on teaching and research in physiology as applied to the function of human body systems in states of health as well as their response in states of disease.

Foundation Studies Unit

This Unit is involved in teaching and research in sciences and language as applicable to foundational year students. Focus areas include; Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Mathematics, Information and Communications Technology and Language and Communication.

State-of-the-art Facilities

  • Physiology Fertility Laboratory

  • Clinical Chemistry Laboratory

  • Histology Laboratories

  • Gross Anatomy (Dissection) Laboratory

  • Cell Culture (Bioactivities) Laboratory

  • Natural Products Laboratory


Wyson Zanamo – Office Assistant

Mrs Mercy Chavula – Secretary